About Me

My photo
Five faces of shivam are Easanam,Thathpurusam, Agoram, Vamadheyam, Sathyojatham. Meikanda Shasthram says three types of worship. *Arupa {Niskala} - formless[empty]. *Rupa {Sakala} - means forms of worship,fully manifested[Natarajar]. *Rupa Arupa {Niskalasakala} -formless form[Sivalingam]. Sarvam Shiva Mayam

Saturday, August 22, 2009

Basic Saiva Siddhantham Philosophy

sitham = mind or knowledge, siddi = accomplishment or sucess, siddhar = who know the truth of mind, antham = end,
siddhantham = end of mind ( that is its the final most stage or level of all siddha).
Saiva siddhantha principal:
1)Mupporul unmai (three meaning truths) - pathi, pasu and paasam.
2)Monnru alavai
3)pancha bootham(5 element)
5)Satkarya vadham

Indus valley civilization is the known historical orgin, connected to sivan (thirumooler), religion which worships sivan as ultimate god,practical all over indian subcontinent and world, spread its roots and established its growth in tamilnadu, the most ancient religion of indian subcontinet.
Evidence of siva worship in the south america, middle east and south-eastern countries - malaysia , vietnam, cambodia , thailand, indonesia , egypt.
In india Saivam is practised as follows:
Nepal: lagulisa pasupatham.
Kashmir:prathhiya pingchai.
Gujarat and maharashtra: sivadivita saivam
Karnatka: veerasaivam

saiva siddhantham accepts vedha but its based on 28 agamas,tholkappiyum, sangam litrature, thirukural and 12 thirumurais.
Original works of saiva siddhantham are available in 14 sattirangal they are sivagnana bhodham by meykandar, arulnandhi sivam , maraignana sambhandhar and umapathy sivam.

Pathi is god (para sivam + para shakthi or simply shivam)
1)Chittu porul ( pure knowledge)
2)Performance of five deeds (pacha kirthyam): blessing, concealing, creating, sustaining, destroying
3)Three types of divine bodies: form (uruvum)-any shiva form,formless(aruvam),both
4)Confluence of karma and life-All deeds of souls will be rewarded/punished
5)salvation(Mukthi)-when the soul realise "pathi", it attains salvation
6)Has eight characteristics- self existence, essential purity,intuitive wisdom, infinite intelligence, essential freedom from all bonds,infinite grace, infinite enjoyment, omnipotence.

Souls are a distinct real entity
Souls are also eternal like pathi but quite diffrent
Souls are normally tied by pasam (the bondage)
Souls can be liberated only with pathi's help
Souls will be never be destroyed - even while the entire universe is destroyed.
Souls are always (until after salvation) involved in birth-death -birth cycle
All living things including plants and animals have souls

Tri(3) malams(bondage)
1) anava - an inherent darkness attached to each soul
2) kanma - deeds and their result
3) maaya - a pure form of energy from which "pathi" creates this universe (that includes our bodies)

When soul has only 'anava', its said to be in a 'unitary' (kvala avathai) state
When soul has all three 'malas' its in ordinary state( sakala avathai)
When soul get rid of all three 'malas', it attains a pure state (suddha avathai)

This is non sentient energy.
With this god creates the world.
Maya transforms as the bodies of the living beins.
Hence, the whole world is reffered to as 'mayakaryam'
Maya helps life like a lamp.
Life gets exposed to knowledge through body and the worldly association.
Therefore, Its called 'om thalai" by sambandhar.
"Maya yanthira thanu" - sivagnana bodham.
Saiva siddhantham speaks highly of maaya.
God creates words with suddha maaya.
With asuddha maaya, siva creates the time and other rules.
Prakriti maaya is used to create the material world (universe)
Pathi pasu and paasam are three real eternal entities.
Pasu and pasam are not created by god, but controlled by him.
pasu (soul) is always under bondage.
pathi perfroms five (not three) duties to provide salvation.
Pathi ( siva) is pure knowledge and infinite love.

1 comment: