About Me

My photo
Five faces of shivam are Easanam,Thathpurusam, Agoram, Vamadheyam, Sathyojatham. Meikanda Shasthram says three types of worship. *Arupa {Niskala} - formless[empty]. *Rupa {Sakala} - means forms of worship,fully manifested[Natarajar]. *Rupa Arupa {Niskalasakala} -formless form[Sivalingam]. Sarvam Shiva Mayam

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Nava Kayilaayam

Nava kayilayam

kailAsh is the highly worshipped mount of Shaivites, which is main among the auspicious abodes of Lord shiva. In the south Tamilnadu on the banks of river thamiraparani there are nine abodes renowned as n^ava kayilAyam (nine kailash).
Sage agasthiyar was doing penance in the podhikai hills. One of his prime disciples was uromacha munivar. He prayed Lord pashupathi to get liberation. The Lord wanted to bless this to him through his guru agasthiyar. agasthiyar put nine flowers in the river and asked urOmacha munivar to install a shiva lingam as kailasa nathar, wherever the flowers dock on the bank and finally bathe and worship the Lord in the place where the river joins the ocean, by doing so he would get what he wished. Adhering to his guru's words, munivar worshipped the Stain-thraoted Lord in the nine places where the nine flowers stopped in the form of shiva lingam and finally bathed in the place where thamiraparani joined the ocean and got liberated. These nine abodes are called nava kayilayam.

These nine temples are:

1. papanacham
2. cheran maha dhevi
3. kodaka nallur
4. kunnaththur
5. murappa nadu
6. shri vaikuntam
7. then thirupperai
8. rajapathi
9. cherndha mangalam

No comments:

Post a Comment