About Me

My photo
Five faces of shivam are Easanam,Thathpurusam, Agoram, Vamadheyam, Sathyojatham. Meikanda Shasthram says three types of worship. *Arupa {Niskala} - formless[empty]. *Rupa {Sakala} - means forms of worship,fully manifested[Natarajar]. *Rupa Arupa {Niskalasakala} -formless form[Sivalingam]. Sarvam Shiva Mayam

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Somasutra pradaxinam

soma sutra pradaxinam


R - RiShabham
C - chaNdIchar
G - gomukhi

During the pradhosham(1) time soma sutra pradaxinam is the suggested way of circumambulating the God. In some of the temples this is followed always. A point to note here is that the gomukhi is never crossed. gomukhi is the place where the water after anointing (abhiSheka tirtam) would be flowing northwards out. By doing this way of pradaxinam one does not step over this holy water.

As per the above marked symbols this pradaxinam is to be done. First saluting the Rishabha devar (Holy Bull) go anti-clockwise and salute sandikeshwar (not crossing the gomukhi). Now return in the clockwise manner salute Rishabham and continue clockwise till the gomukhi (not cross it again). Then return in anti-clockwise direction salute the Rishabham again and proceed towards sandikeshwar. From there return back clockwise without worshiping Rishabham and reach the gomukhi. Finally return back anti-clockwise from there to salute Rishabham and continue to sandikeshwar and return back to Rishabham and worship the shiva lingam (at the altar) by viewing through the space between the two horns of the Holy bull. This is one pradaxinam. Three such times pradaxinam to be done.

If you carefully observe the curve traced by doing the pradaxinam is very similar to the periphery of the crescent. Hence this way of circumambulating is called somasutra pradaxinam.

No comments:

Post a Comment