About Me

My photo
Five faces of shivam are Easanam,Thathpurusam, Agoram, Vamadheyam, Sathyojatham. Meikanda Shasthram says three types of worship. *Arupa {Niskala} - formless[empty]. *Rupa {Sakala} - means forms of worship,fully manifested[Natarajar]. *Rupa Arupa {Niskalasakala} -formless form[Sivalingam]. Sarvam Shiva Mayam

Sunday, June 7, 2009



venattadikal is one among the nine devotees who sung the Divine Music thiruvichaippa, which is the ninth thirumurai. His compositions form the sixth set in thiruvichaippa. There is not much information available about his orginal name and life details. as he belonged to the veNadu - kodunthamiznadu (thiruvangur area which is in between keralam and thamiz n^adu) he is called venattadikal. His name indicates that he was a renounced devotee. He had a matured devotion for the God. it is said that he came in the royal family. like the love for the Three eyed Sugarcane spread throughout his mind, he travelled through the southern parts and praised the lord shiva with nice hymns. Only one of the padhikams he sang is now available to us which is on the Dancing lord of thillai. No other details, including the time period in which he lived, are known.

No comments:

Post a Comment